Honesty is the Best Policy

Sorry Mr. P. You’ll find out why I am sorry by the end of this post.

“We lie. We all do. We exaggerate, we minimize, we avoid confrontation, we spare people’s feelings, we conveniently forget, we keep secrets, we justify lying to the big-guy institutions.” (The Way We Lie)

Is it humanly possible to tell the truth and nothing but the truth? I’ve tried telling the truth this pass few days and I honestly can say that I didn’t make it pass 5 hours. Does that make me a bad person? I don’t think so because so many people do it, it’s not good to lie but we’ve all done it before.

“The cruelest lies are often told in silence” – R.L. Stevenson 

The idea of not lying is similar to trying to get everyone in the world to agree on the same religion. It’s impossible. Lying will always be here whether we like it our not. Another down side is that lying can come in many forms. Omission, white lie, facade, dismissal, etc. Omission is lying in its greatest form. With the right twist to your words, you can get people to believe anything. I can easily commit this type of lie without batting an eyelash. It comes naturally, almost too natural.

Today for example my teacher asked if I was done with my work. I instinctively said “yes” when in actuality I didn’t want to do work because it was my last class of the day and I was more than ready for a week off of school. It was way to easy for me to lie to a teacher, someone who students are supposed to be able to confide in, to easily talk to, to be able to trust. If teachers are supposed to be that to a student, then how was it so easy for me to look my teacher in the eyes and lie?

So, sorry Mr.P at least I’ve finished my post. 🙂

-Ashley

Leave a Reply

